New Orleans 504.733.0026
New Orleans 504.733.0026
Northshore 985.898.2122
Baton Rouge 225.924.1155
Jackson, MS 601.203.6479

Testimonials

Appliance Service Reviews

Review Summary

4.6
Rated 4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5 stars (based on 378 reviews)
Excellent85%
Very good4%
Average1%
Poor2%
Terrible8%
Solar Appliance Repair Service

Recent Reviews

Chris was a knowledgeable and friendly technician. He wasn’t able to repair the ice maker because it was a plumbing issue, but he was very helpful in making me understand what the likely issue was and how to convey this properly to the plumber. Thanks Chris!
Sbeevers42
Sbeevers42
17:01 01 Dec 21
The person Robert? who came by was professional, articulate, knowledgable and knew what he was doing. I now have an ice maker that works! Thank you so much for sending him.
Vickie Hatton
Vickie Hatton
16:36 18 Nov 21
Checked out a new oven that was very loud when igniting. He was able to explain the difference in the new types of
Ann Scruggs
Ann Scruggs
13:40 16 Nov 21
When someone performs a task and they make it look easy, it means they know what they are doing. The tech made this repair look easy. He was professional, quick, and courteous.
Michael Diedling
Michael Diedling
17:24 12 Nov 21
Our technician was very knowledgeable, he listened to took care of what we needed fixed.It was an unusual problem and he contacted the manufacturer for more info .I was very pleased with the service.
Chere Keller
Chere Keller
20:56 07 Nov 21
Service was excellent. Representative arrived timely, However, he was unable to repair my washer because the part was no longer available.He explained everything to me and O was advised that I would have to replace this washer.
Ella Rivers
Ella Rivers
19:44 26 Oct 21
I've used them on numerous occassions. They do what you expect them to do. Consistent and Reliable. I recommend them.
Mark BFitness
Mark BFitness
18:58 25 Oct 21
I feel it was a bit more expensive than should have been. I had to get ice dispenser motor replaced on my 2 year old kitchen-aid French door unit. Chris Adcock was the service tech and to be quite honest, his honest and truly remarkable professional approach and performance made the experience... worth the little extra in price. I trust this company and it’s service all because of him and his delivery. Thank you for finally renewing my faith in this industry type of service and recommend your conpany to anyone in need of appliance service.read more
Mr. Douglas Brown
Mr. Douglas Brown
07:00 23 Oct 21
Technician was prompt and efficient. It was a call out to assess wether my 9 yr old dishwasher was worth repairing. He gave a detailed breakdown of parts and labor from which we both could easily see repair wasn’t economic. No pressure/ sales pitch.
Mr. “Alistair” Salisbury
Mr. “Alistair” Salisbury
23:02 22 Oct 21
Professional and courteous. I would most definitely use you again in the future. Thank you for quickly fixing the issue.Jennifer Russell
Stryker Russell
Stryker Russell
17:12 21 Oct 21
js_loader
Rated 2 out of 5
November 10, 2021

I used this company to look at a May tag dryer gas, it took a while for them to come out, the tech advised me that the timer was bad which needed to be replaced, and gave me a quote of 500.00 for the part however found the timer and replaced it for 125.00, I’m aware of the shortage of workers, but this technicians was inexperienced in his trade.

Darryl R
Rated 5 out of 5
October 15, 2021

Branson Byrd was very good!! On each occasion he came to my home, he was very polite. I was impressed with his kind manner. He resolved the issue with my stove in a professional manner. I recommend this company!

SRule
Rated 1 out of 5
September 24, 2021

The detergent door on my dishwasher would periodically not closed. When the Solar service tech arrived it was working. I requested a replacement. Said tech stated it did not need to be replaced. On the next try it did not. At that point he decided to replace it. Perhaps understandable. When said tech arrived he had to remove the door to replace the detergent door. As he was leaving my wife noticed a screw on the floor and inquired about it. The tech stated he was glad that my wife noticed it because it was one he took out when removing the door. Much to our chagrin when we washed the dishes subsequent to repair there were profuse leaks to the extent that we have to place bowls under the dishwasher when using it to collect the leaking water. Having lost confidence in Solar I contacted Whirlpool direct. They are sending out a tech from another firm to fix the door if possible to fix the incompetent job done by the tech from Solar.

Earl
Rated 1 out of 5
September 21, 2021

The worst a whole moth waiting on repair as of today nothing but the run around very unprofessional call and you get no response technician unprofessional problem not remedy after calling Maytag several times and having the buck passed around would never recommend for any service 0 stars if possible

Lisa pierre
Rated 5 out of 5
September 13, 2021

I have a good deal of experience with Solar….all exemplary! Chris is the technician who usually services my appliances in Jackson, and a more professional, likable young man you won’t find. He is knowledgeable and I trust him and Solar completely. This company puts the customer back in the phrase customer service. They talk the talk and walk the walk. Rare in today’s business climate I find. Highly recommend.
Sharman Admire

Sharman Admire
Rated 5 out of 5
September 6, 2021

My gas dryer, which I bought 1994, was not blowing hot air. Doing a internet search, I decided to call Solar Appliance Repair. I asked the lady that answered my call if it was worth trying to fix it. She said “Yes.” Glad that I did. First, they charge you up front for everything. Which I don’t mind. They were very punctual in everything they said that they would do. The service person (Chris) who made 3 trips (the initial visit, and 2 separate times with parts) called me numerous times to let me know he got the parts and when he could come by and again 30 minute before he would be here. Needless to say, he was punctual, he definitely knew what he was doing, was very professional, courteous, etc. I certainly recommend this company.

Toby O'Bryan
Rated 1 out of 5
August 5, 2021

poor

poor
Rated 1 out of 5
July 13, 2021

This is the worst repair company I have ever tried to use. I waited for 10 weeks for parts on a Jenn-air oven. I found out they ordered the wrong parts, what they had ordered was for a microwave!!! I called Mr Jim and he had it repaired in 3 weeks!! Never use Solar in Jackson Ms.

William
Rated 1 out of 5
July 7, 2021

Service was horrible. Technician came to door, left a flyer on door and left. Did not ring doorbell.

Robert Scott
Rated 5 out of 5
July 6, 2021

We had a problem with our DCS grill which was under warranty. Solar sent out Ron to diagnose and make the repairs. From the moment Ron walked in I knew we were in good hands! He diagnosed the problem and had to return a couple of times because DCS sent the wrong part. He finally got the part and fixed our grill perfectly. Ron is truly a Master Technician and professional at his craft. I would recommend Ron and Solar anytime for an appliance repair! Thanks

Lou Dominguez
Rated 5 out of 5
June 21, 2021

Our refrigerator was not cooling and our Technician Scott (tec 34) was so very helpful. On the first vist he had to asssess and order the part and came back just three days later to install it. He was very professional, skilled in his field and was very courteous. I also appreciate that he explained everything and when he left I had a working refrigerator. I am sure you realize that he is an asset to your company.

Cindy
Rated 5 out of 5
June 7, 2021

solar sent their tech, kenny, to repair my 5 year old washer. very prompy, professional and totally honest. yes he could repair the machine. however he informed me the transmission was broken and the cost was astronomical. i could purchase a new one for the same amount of money. i totally respect this man and this company. thank you

beverly jung
Rated 1 out of 5
June 2, 2021

I would give zero stars if I could. From day 1 dealing with Solar, it has been 1 issue after another. This is not an attitude issue or poor customer service, everyone has been friendly. They are just limited to what they can do. My issue is the operations end and how it is run. Scheduling system doesn’t work. GPS system doesn’t work. No parts on the trucks. Long delays to get a repair. 24 hour wait which turned in to 4 days in order to get a supervisor to call me back. Unfortunately, I was in a meeting and now must continue to wait for George because the Service Manager is out on service calls. Really? Why is he a Service Manager if he is out making calls still? Just no accessibility. Everyone has acknowledged the problems and it is just a circus.

Jody Hill 601-940-8845
Rated 1 out of 5
April 23, 2021

Solar was recommonded to me by LG and also a friend.
I informed Solar i had a washing machine issue and also i had a 10 year warrenty on my motor. The repairman came out and according to the code on my machine it was the motor. Turns out at that time it was not the motor. after about a month waiting for parts to come in and finding out it was the motor,
after the motor was placed iin the washer was told we owe over 300.00 informed we have a 10 year warrenty and he called his office and was told they do not do warrenty service for LG. I informed him I told him of this and it is right on the front of the machine 10 YEAR MOTOR Warrenty. He stated he did not notice it. HE CALLED THE OFFICE AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT GOING TO COVER THE WARRENTY FOR THIS LG. I INFORMED HIM HE WAS ALSO INFORMED OF THE WARRENTY AND STATED HE MUST HAVE FORGOT.
Will call LG and advise them not to give their name out because i was told they do not do warrenty work for them.

Linda Reinhardt
Rated 4 out of 5
April 14, 2021

Chris told me what was wrong with it I went to Pearl bought the parts watched a YouTube video and repaired it myself the same day it’s working great now

Claudia Barnett-Estes, REALTOR-Broker
Rated 1 out of 5
April 13, 2021

The service tech was totally unprepared and made the problem worse. They don’t call if they reschedule. I had to call them when they didn’t show up. I don’t recommend this company to anyone.

Cindy
Rated 2 out of 5
March 21, 2021

Downright unacceptable service!!!
First, nobody called the day in advance like they said to advise on arrival time window. We requested morning and after no one showed I received 2 back-to-back calls at 1:15pm (while I was busy at work) from the tech that he was 15mins out. Luckily my wife was able to be home.
Second, my wife advised the tech arrived and was very nice. It took 1 min to determine (in his mind) what was wrong.
Well…after a repair estimate for $1100 to replace the control board, I decided to troubleshoot it myself. After 10mins to pull the microwave down (over range type) and pulling the housing and door off (20mins) I checked the connections to the control board and verified the fuse was good. I then pulled the protected sheath off the wires that go from the door to unit. This is where the tech said it’s a bad design and causes the control board to fail. If the tech would have performed his job instead of assuming the control board was bad and inspected the wires, he would have found 3 of the 5 were cut due to getting caught in the door. I You-Tubed how to pull the interior door apart and accessed the wiring harness and spliced the wires bag together. (completed repair with fever in 1hr)
I didn’t request a tech to estimate the most expensive repair just to have to do it myself. He could have competed the repair during the time we already paid for if he would have just looked. These are the reasons I and others should not trust repairmen when they don’t spend the time to do the job right the first time. I guarantee you if we would have paid the $1100, you would have pocketed it all, never ordered the $750 part and spliced the wires back and not said anything else.
I challenge you to investigate all these similar type estimates to determine if the wires were cut (bad design) and charged the customer to change the control board. That’s some expensive electrical tape and connectors!!!
I request a full refund and summary of actions being taken to avoid this in the future prior to deciding whether to report this to the BBB or not.

BJ Woodrow
Rated 5 out of 5
February 3, 2021

Jon was the technician who came and saw the problem with my brand new ice maker on my Whirlpool refrigerator. Unfortunately, the part was delayed (not Solar’s problem) but the same technician returned to fix it. He was on time, courteous, and I now have a working ice machine. Thank you.

Louise Tranchin
Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2021

Great service! You came a day earlier than first promised to fix my dryer.
Repairman was prompt and polite and efficient.

Donna Linam
Rated 5 out of 5
January 11, 2021

Kenny came out to service our Speed Queen washer today. He not only was prompt but a little early. He was very professional, polite and honest with regards to our issues. We cannot say enough about how pleased we are with the service we had today.

Chester & Libby Wallace
Rated 5 out of 5
December 7, 2020

Today, Andrew, came out to check our washing machine. He ran diagnostics on it and gave us a lot of information on the washing machine. He gave us tips on how to make it wash like we expected. We will try all the things that he recommended. He was very helpful. He wore a mask and coverings on his shoes. Thank you Andrew.

Karan
Rated 1 out of 5
November 17, 2020

no show, no apology, no call returned, no email. done with this company

a disgusted customer
Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2020

We had a challenge with our Washing Machine and the representative, Mr. Kenneth, came out bright and early on this past Monday morning. He was exceptionally professional and reminded us of the “old school” manner in which technicians used to service accounts in the homes of their customers. What a joy!
Additionally, when we called to follow-up on an email on Wednesday, the person who answered the call, Ms. Tenisha, was just as pleasant and professional as Mr. Kenneth was. This was a great experience also. They were both gentle and concerned.
Thank you.
Very Respectfully,

Customer (Spring Lake, New Orleans)
Rated 5 out of 5
September 26, 2020

Prompt, professional, and resolve the problem

Prompt, professionalRobert NORMAND, and resolve the problem
Rated 1 out of 5
September 18, 2020

They misdiagnosed our problem and had to come out 3 times. That wouldn’t have been a problem if we lived local, but we lived over an hour away. I had to hire someone to meet them and pay them the whole time they waited for the repairs to be done. I tried to call the owner Tony and one of his employees told me that he wouldn’t even care. So I left several voicemails/messages for Tony and never got a response. So that tells you he doesn’t care.

Amie Rabel
Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2020

On time and found the problem in 10 minutes. Wiring from the factory had not been pushed into the connector well enough. “It’s alive….” now we have ice. THANKS!

R Tullos
Rated 1 out of 5
September 1, 2020

My refrigerator has been having trouble for almost 4 months. The Solar technician initially told me that it was because the freezer was overloaded (it wasn’t), however also told me it needed new gaskets. I had them order new gaskets and waited a couple of weeks before they could be installed. The technician had to come back twice to adjust the gaskets – each time I had to schedule on my day off and spend my afternoon waiting. Refrigerator still having the same problem. They added silicone behind the gaskets to adjust the seal, and still had same problem. The technician told me he tried to contact the manufacturer for advice but they were closed due to Covid. I waited and waited as the weeks went by. I called over a week ago and asked where to go from here, and no one called me back. I called again yesterday, and spoke with a manager who said a technician manager would call me this morning and come look at the refrigerator this afternoon, and no one called. I called again and spoke with a very rude customer service agent who told me someone would be here after 1:00 today, so here i sit on another afternoon waiting. I have begged to speak with a manager or owner to let them know what is going on, but their phone staff will not get them. While I was waiting, I called the manufacturer that Solar has repeatedly told me won’t take support calls due to Covid, and I was able to speak to a technician after a 10 minute hold. I am very upset and now don’t believe anything Solar Refrigeration says. They lied.

Rose
Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2020

Solar Refrigeration came out and diagnosed our refrigerator’s problem. Rodney ordered the parts and came back one week later and installed. He was courteous, wore a facemask and put coverings on his shoes. We would use them again. Thank you Rodney.

Karan Woods
Rated 1 out of 5
June 3, 2020

They came out on May 20 told me it was the control board waited for a week for them to come they finally came put the part on and that wasn’t it so now he order another part have to wait another week I would not recommend them .

Tiffany c
Rated 1 out of 5
May 29, 2020

Absolutely horrible customer service. I placed a call into them because I hadn’t received a call after the work order# from the warranty was issued. Solar had received the w.o.# but didn’t call. I was scheduled for a service call on Friday,May 29. Solar said “sorry you’re going to have to wait till Tuesday for the first available service call. Mind you they originally fixed my washing machine issue last year and didn’t do it right. So now I’m having to go back to them. They said, well if you can’t wait, call back your warranty people and find another vendor.” I replied, “I can’t do that because Solar initially fixed it and if I go to somebody else it’ll invalidate the warranty.” I said oh yeah well let me look into it and get back with you in a little bit.
It’s 9 at night and I never heard back anyting.
Horrible Service!!

Augellé Dionisio
Rated 5 out of 5
May 11, 2020

Great service! Rodney was my technician today. He had on a mask, gloves and shoe covers to ensure that my family was protected and himself. He was courteous and got straight to work! When he finished he explained to me what was going on with my refrigerator and insisted that I call if I experience anymore issues with it. I highly recommend him and this company. Great job!!!

A Johnson
Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2020

Raymond came to my mom’s house and was very courteous and polite. He worked above and beyond to diagnose the appliance. Thank you Raymond!

Maria
Rated 1 out of 5
March 19, 2020

If I could give them a zero I totally would. I Called on 3/18/20 to schedule an appt for 3/19/20. I got a confirmation call about an hour after making my appt – I waited all day and no one showed up and when I tried to call the company no one answered the phones. I tried 3 different locations and no answer. If you want service I would recommend you calling someone else

Tifani
Rated 1 out of 5
March 12, 2020

To be clear up front, my issue is NOT with our tech. Weeks ago we had a tech look at our dishwasher and he determined that our issue was due to a bad heating element. So we ordered and paid for a new heating element. The parts department then decided to order a new control board instead without consulting us. Because the control board was on backorder, we had to wait two weeks to confirm that the issue is with the heating element. Now we have been notified that the heating element is on backorder and we will have to wait another two weeks to get our dishwasher fixed. Before I was just annoyed with a shipping delay, now I am angry with decisions that were made without our knowledge or consent. Our tech was great, he diagnosed the problem correctly. I wish he had been listened to. I really have no idea what can or would be done to rectify this situation. Based on my concerns over the phone being brushed off, I’m not even sure if I will get a response. But I would rather have my concerns be and responses documented going forward.

Beth Restituto
Rated 5 out of 5
January 23, 2020

Our oven would not ignite properly. We contacted Solar Appliance Service (from their web site) and scheduled a repair service online. They responded with an email that afternoon to confirm the repair service date and again the day before the service to provide the time and technician. They arrived when scheduled, diagnosed the problem and did the repair that day. Well done!
We had used Solar Appliance before with the same professional service.

Neil
Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2020

Andrew is definitely an asset to this company
Great job!

Angela Figures
Rated 5 out of 5
January 21, 2020

My experience was excellent the technician explaine what he was doing step by step he was professional. I will recommend Solar to my friends

Carolyn Williams
Rated 4 out of 5
January 21, 2020

Professional & polite. Unfortunately the repair cost would have been more than my stove is worth. So to market I go.
I would use company again

Deana
Rated 5 out of 5
January 20, 2020

Was prompt and courteous. Explained the problem and fixed it.

Katrina Marbley
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

Very knowledgeable technicians

Ann Clayton Chamberlain
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

Excellent service.

Candace
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

They were very quick to return my call. Confirmed the appointment the day before and called when they were on the way. Also, gave me an honest opinion on my options for repair

Laura K
Rated 2 out of 5
January 15, 2020

i think for less than 30 minutes I should have received a little bit more for my money. I think the amount u charged me was outrageous. Jeremy was very polite. I won’t be calling u for anymore services. Didn’t even get a senior citizen discount.

Pam David

Response from Solar Appliance

Thank you for leaving us your feedback, Mrs. David. We’re sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the cost of your service call. Today’s costs for appliance repair, at times, can be expensive, and we wish it were not so. We make sure that our repair costs are in line with, and are based on the Appliance Blue Book, which is the national standard pricing guide for appliance repairs. Our technician didn’t attempt to sell you on further services because a full sealed system repair would not have been cost-effective for you. And we would have been happy to give you our standard senior discount, but unfortunately, our technician wasn’t asked or made aware that you qualified, and we would never want to assume a customer’s age and have them take offense. If you have any concerns about the cost of your service, please feel free to call our office anytime. Thank you again and have a great day.

Rated 5 out of 5
January 15, 2020

Great service! Ron was very polite and explained everything to me!

Kathy
Rated 1 out of 5
January 13, 2020

Terrible customer service from Don. No show on first service call. Paid 50% in advance and waited a week for a part it turns out I did not need (they never pulled out the dryer to confirm the gas was turned on until said part arrived). After one month and 5 phone calls, my refund has yet to be processed. No one has called me back and management is not available during business hours. Waste of my time and money, contacting the Federal Trade Commission to file official complaint.

Anastasia Cymes
Rated 5 out of 5
January 13, 2020

Friendly, professional service people. Always on time and always provide a written estimate.

Dan Haydel
Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2020

Wonderful service

Sammie Bohn
Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2020

Excellent service, Mike was wonderful. Fully explained everything to me. Recommend highly!

Abbie L
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

Excellent experience. Chris was very diligent at fixing my freezer.

D
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

On time and thorough

Kerry Milton