New Orleans 504.733.0026
New Orleans 504.733.0026
Northshore 985.898.2122
Baton Rouge 225.924.1155
Jackson, MS 601.203.6479

Testimonials

Appliance Service Reviews

Review Summary

4.6
Rated 4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5 stars (based on 362 reviews)
Excellent87%
Very good4%
Average1%
Poor2%
Terrible6%
Solar Appliance Repair Service

Recent Reviews

Service technician arrived when expected. Was very professional and quickly determined the problem and corrected it. Will definitely use Solar again.
Kenneth Julian
Kenneth Julian
23:02 01 Apr 21
Repairman arrived early, and solved my issue competently. Professional and respectful throughout. From 1st call to resolution, a very positive experience. Good job!!!
Albert Faciane
Albert Faciane
19:20 01 Apr 21
There was a blockage due to a build up of ice. The service person took care of that quickly and showed us how to do it ourselves in the future. He was very efficient and courteous.
Debra Salbador
Debra Salbador
17:09 01 Apr 21
On time, professional and took about 5 minutes to solve the issue with my washing machine! Required no parts and he showed me what it was causing the issue which was helpful! Love an honest company!! Thank you!!!
Christine
Christine
02:36 30 Mar 21
Technician Matt was wonderful. He went above and beyond to get the correct parts for my cooktop. I had been waiting months for parts that did not solve the issues. He made sure that the correct parts were ordered and he assured me that he would make us whole again and he did just that. He... followed all protocol regarding COVID.read more
Alisa Chambliss
Alisa Chambliss
16:58 18 Mar 21
Extremely polite, Raymond not only knows what he is doing, he is very in touch with the owner's feelings.
Steve Gaffney
Steve Gaffney
20:28 14 Mar 21
I believe the repairmen was named Kenny. Very professional and knowledgeable. Of course we could not get the refrigerator to make the noise that caused us to call for services. The refrigerator has not made the noise since the service. Hopefully we will get lucky and not need any additional... service. We were very pleased with the overall handling of setting the time for service and will call you again if needed. Thank you.read more
Alex Mouledous
Alex Mouledous
16:43 11 Mar 21
I reached out to Solar after high recommendations and after needing a diagnostic for my Kenmore Elite bottom freezer refrigerator. After the previous “Sears contracted technician “ was not acceptable, I called Solar, spoke with Ashley who scheduled me for a diagnostic the next day. Kenny, the... technician arrived during the scheduled time, donned with a face mask( the Sears... technician did not), diagnosed the problem and even researched the part. He also checked my warranty to disclose that the compressor was under warranty for 10 years. The part was not available for Solar to obtain therefore I contacted Sears again and continue to wait to have my appliance repaired. Although Solar did not repair my appliance, they were able to diagnose the problem and give recommendations. I will not hesitate to contact them in the future if necessary and recommend them as I was.read more
Cynthia Bush
Cynthia Bush
15:53 11 Mar 21
Great Service: set appointment, followed up with phone call when on way, showed up within the 3 hour window promised. Reasonable Pricing
Rickey Kastner
Rickey Kastner
19:58 03 Mar 21
The repair man was very nice and professional. He definitely knew a lot about my refrigerator (an Amanna). I am so happy he was able to fix it. I paid my deposit on credit card over phone when I booked apt $99. Then paid $38 dollars upon completion which is fair in today’s market. The man was... here a little over an hour. They have a BBB rating and are very dependable. I will use them again.read more
Kathleen DiMaggio
Kathleen DiMaggio
17:12 03 Mar 21
Rated 2 out of 5
March 21, 2021

Downright unacceptable service!!!
First, nobody called the day in advance like they said to advise on arrival time window. We requested morning and after no one showed I received 2 back-to-back calls at 1:15pm (while I was busy at work) from the tech that he was 15mins out. Luckily my wife was able to be home.
Second, my wife advised the tech arrived and was very nice. It took 1 min to determine (in his mind) what was wrong.
Well…after a repair estimate for $1100 to replace the control board, I decided to troubleshoot it myself. After 10mins to pull the microwave down (over range type) and pulling the housing and door off (20mins) I checked the connections to the control board and verified the fuse was good. I then pulled the protected sheath off the wires that go from the door to unit. This is where the tech said it’s a bad design and causes the control board to fail. If the tech would have performed his job instead of assuming the control board was bad and inspected the wires, he would have found 3 of the 5 were cut due to getting caught in the door. I You-Tubed how to pull the interior door apart and accessed the wiring harness and spliced the wires bag together. (completed repair with fever in 1hr)
I didn’t request a tech to estimate the most expensive repair just to have to do it myself. He could have competed the repair during the time we already paid for if he would have just looked. These are the reasons I and others should not trust repairmen when they don’t spend the time to do the job right the first time. I guarantee you if we would have paid the $1100, you would have pocketed it all, never ordered the $750 part and spliced the wires back and not said anything else.
I challenge you to investigate all these similar type estimates to determine if the wires were cut (bad design) and charged the customer to change the control board. That’s some expensive electrical tape and connectors!!!
I request a full refund and summary of actions being taken to avoid this in the future prior to deciding whether to report this to the BBB or not.

BJ Woodrow
Rated 5 out of 5
February 3, 2021

Jon was the technician who came and saw the problem with my brand new ice maker on my Whirlpool refrigerator. Unfortunately, the part was delayed (not Solar’s problem) but the same technician returned to fix it. He was on time, courteous, and I now have a working ice machine. Thank you.

Louise Tranchin
Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2021

Great service! You came a day earlier than first promised to fix my dryer.
Repairman was prompt and polite and efficient.

Donna Linam
Rated 5 out of 5
January 11, 2021

Kenny came out to service our Speed Queen washer today. He not only was prompt but a little early. He was very professional, polite and honest with regards to our issues. We cannot say enough about how pleased we are with the service we had today.

Chester & Libby Wallace
Rated 5 out of 5
December 7, 2020

Today, Andrew, came out to check our washing machine. He ran diagnostics on it and gave us a lot of information on the washing machine. He gave us tips on how to make it wash like we expected. We will try all the things that he recommended. He was very helpful. He wore a mask and coverings on his shoes. Thank you Andrew.

Karan
Rated 1 out of 5
November 17, 2020

no show, no apology, no call returned, no email. done with this company

a disgusted customer
Rated 5 out of 5
October 22, 2020

We had a challenge with our Washing Machine and the representative, Mr. Kenneth, came out bright and early on this past Monday morning. He was exceptionally professional and reminded us of the “old school” manner in which technicians used to service accounts in the homes of their customers. What a joy!
Additionally, when we called to follow-up on an email on Wednesday, the person who answered the call, Ms. Tenisha, was just as pleasant and professional as Mr. Kenneth was. This was a great experience also. They were both gentle and concerned.
Thank you.
Very Respectfully,

Customer (Spring Lake, New Orleans)
Rated 5 out of 5
September 26, 2020

Prompt, professional, and resolve the problem

Prompt, professionalRobert NORMAND, and resolve the problem
Rated 1 out of 5
September 18, 2020

They misdiagnosed our problem and had to come out 3 times. That wouldn’t have been a problem if we lived local, but we lived over an hour away. I had to hire someone to meet them and pay them the whole time they waited for the repairs to be done. I tried to call the owner Tony and one of his employees told me that he wouldn’t even care. So I left several voicemails/messages for Tony and never got a response. So that tells you he doesn’t care.

Amie Rabel
Rated 5 out of 5
September 3, 2020

On time and found the problem in 10 minutes. Wiring from the factory had not been pushed into the connector well enough. “It’s alive….” now we have ice. THANKS!

R Tullos
Rated 1 out of 5
September 1, 2020

My refrigerator has been having trouble for almost 4 months. The Solar technician initially told me that it was because the freezer was overloaded (it wasn’t), however also told me it needed new gaskets. I had them order new gaskets and waited a couple of weeks before they could be installed. The technician had to come back twice to adjust the gaskets – each time I had to schedule on my day off and spend my afternoon waiting. Refrigerator still having the same problem. They added silicone behind the gaskets to adjust the seal, and still had same problem. The technician told me he tried to contact the manufacturer for advice but they were closed due to Covid. I waited and waited as the weeks went by. I called over a week ago and asked where to go from here, and no one called me back. I called again yesterday, and spoke with a manager who said a technician manager would call me this morning and come look at the refrigerator this afternoon, and no one called. I called again and spoke with a very rude customer service agent who told me someone would be here after 1:00 today, so here i sit on another afternoon waiting. I have begged to speak with a manager or owner to let them know what is going on, but their phone staff will not get them. While I was waiting, I called the manufacturer that Solar has repeatedly told me won’t take support calls due to Covid, and I was able to speak to a technician after a 10 minute hold. I am very upset and now don’t believe anything Solar Refrigeration says. They lied.

Rose
Rated 5 out of 5
July 15, 2020

Solar Refrigeration came out and diagnosed our refrigerator’s problem. Rodney ordered the parts and came back one week later and installed. He was courteous, wore a facemask and put coverings on his shoes. We would use them again. Thank you Rodney.

Karan Woods
Rated 1 out of 5
June 3, 2020

They came out on May 20 told me it was the control board waited for a week for them to come they finally came put the part on and that wasn’t it so now he order another part have to wait another week I would not recommend them .

Tiffany c
Rated 1 out of 5
May 29, 2020

Absolutely horrible customer service. I placed a call into them because I hadn’t received a call after the work order# from the warranty was issued. Solar had received the w.o.# but didn’t call. I was scheduled for a service call on Friday,May 29. Solar said “sorry you’re going to have to wait till Tuesday for the first available service call. Mind you they originally fixed my washing machine issue last year and didn’t do it right. So now I’m having to go back to them. They said, well if you can’t wait, call back your warranty people and find another vendor.” I replied, “I can’t do that because Solar initially fixed it and if I go to somebody else it’ll invalidate the warranty.” I said oh yeah well let me look into it and get back with you in a little bit.
It’s 9 at night and I never heard back anyting.
Horrible Service!!

Augellé Dionisio
Rated 5 out of 5
May 11, 2020

Great service! Rodney was my technician today. He had on a mask, gloves and shoe covers to ensure that my family was protected and himself. He was courteous and got straight to work! When he finished he explained to me what was going on with my refrigerator and insisted that I call if I experience anymore issues with it. I highly recommend him and this company. Great job!!!

A Johnson
Rated 5 out of 5
March 25, 2020

Raymond came to my mom’s house and was very courteous and polite. He worked above and beyond to diagnose the appliance. Thank you Raymond!

Maria
Rated 1 out of 5
March 19, 2020

If I could give them a zero I totally would. I Called on 3/18/20 to schedule an appt for 3/19/20. I got a confirmation call about an hour after making my appt – I waited all day and no one showed up and when I tried to call the company no one answered the phones. I tried 3 different locations and no answer. If you want service I would recommend you calling someone else

Tifani
Rated 1 out of 5
March 12, 2020

To be clear up front, my issue is NOT with our tech. Weeks ago we had a tech look at our dishwasher and he determined that our issue was due to a bad heating element. So we ordered and paid for a new heating element. The parts department then decided to order a new control board instead without consulting us. Because the control board was on backorder, we had to wait two weeks to confirm that the issue is with the heating element. Now we have been notified that the heating element is on backorder and we will have to wait another two weeks to get our dishwasher fixed. Before I was just annoyed with a shipping delay, now I am angry with decisions that were made without our knowledge or consent. Our tech was great, he diagnosed the problem correctly. I wish he had been listened to. I really have no idea what can or would be done to rectify this situation. Based on my concerns over the phone being brushed off, I’m not even sure if I will get a response. But I would rather have my concerns be and responses documented going forward.

Beth Restituto
Rated 5 out of 5
January 23, 2020

Our oven would not ignite properly. We contacted Solar Appliance Service (from their web site) and scheduled a repair service online. They responded with an email that afternoon to confirm the repair service date and again the day before the service to provide the time and technician. They arrived when scheduled, diagnosed the problem and did the repair that day. Well done!
We had used Solar Appliance before with the same professional service.

Neil
Rated 5 out of 5
January 22, 2020

Andrew is definitely an asset to this company
Great job!

Angela Figures
Rated 5 out of 5
January 21, 2020

My experience was excellent the technician explaine what he was doing step by step he was professional. I will recommend Solar to my friends

Carolyn Williams
Rated 4 out of 5
January 21, 2020

Professional & polite. Unfortunately the repair cost would have been more than my stove is worth. So to market I go.
I would use company again

Deana
Rated 5 out of 5
January 20, 2020

Was prompt and courteous. Explained the problem and fixed it.

Katrina Marbley
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

Very knowledgeable technicians

Ann Clayton Chamberlain
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

Excellent service.

Candace
Rated 5 out of 5
January 16, 2020

They were very quick to return my call. Confirmed the appointment the day before and called when they were on the way. Also, gave me an honest opinion on my options for repair

Laura K
Rated 2 out of 5
January 15, 2020

i think for less than 30 minutes I should have received a little bit more for my money. I think the amount u charged me was outrageous. Jeremy was very polite. I won’t be calling u for anymore services. Didn’t even get a senior citizen discount.

Pam David

Response from Solar Appliance

Thank you for leaving us your feedback, Mrs. David. We’re sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the cost of your service call. Today’s costs for appliance repair, at times, can be expensive, and we wish it were not so. We make sure that our repair costs are in line with, and are based on the Appliance Blue Book, which is the national standard pricing guide for appliance repairs. Our technician didn’t attempt to sell you on further services because a full sealed system repair would not have been cost-effective for you. And we would have been happy to give you our standard senior discount, but unfortunately, our technician wasn’t asked or made aware that you qualified, and we would never want to assume a customer’s age and have them take offense. If you have any concerns about the cost of your service, please feel free to call our office anytime. Thank you again and have a great day.

Rated 5 out of 5
January 15, 2020

Great service! Ron was very polite and explained everything to me!

Kathy
Rated 1 out of 5
January 13, 2020

Terrible customer service from Don. No show on first service call. Paid 50% in advance and waited a week for a part it turns out I did not need (they never pulled out the dryer to confirm the gas was turned on until said part arrived). After one month and 5 phone calls, my refund has yet to be processed. No one has called me back and management is not available during business hours. Waste of my time and money, contacting the Federal Trade Commission to file official complaint.

Anastasia Cymes
Rated 5 out of 5
January 13, 2020

Friendly, professional service people. Always on time and always provide a written estimate.

Dan Haydel
Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2020

Wonderful service

Sammie Bohn
Rated 5 out of 5
January 10, 2020

Excellent service, Mike was wonderful. Fully explained everything to me. Recommend highly!

Abbie L
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

Excellent experience. Chris was very diligent at fixing my freezer.

D
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

On time and thorough

Kerry Milton
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

Very knowledgeable

LLB
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

Your technician was very kind and gave me all the info I needed after fixing my problem 👍

Roxanne Larkin
Rated 5 out of 5
January 9, 2020

On time and thorough

Kerry Milton
Rated 5 out of 5
January 8, 2020

My experience was great

Varrick Dyer
Rated 5 out of 5
January 8, 2020

Excellent

Thom Smilari
Rated 5 out of 5
January 8, 2020

Tech was very helpful in honest with the condition of my dishwasher in making a decision to replace due to its age & cost to repair

Erin Heaton
Rated 5 out of 5
January 2, 2020

I had the technician Ron and he was very experienced and new what he was doing. He was very clean and neat. Explained everything to me in detail so I New what was going on . Thanks for Ron. I will recommend solar anytime. Thanks for the great service Ryan !

Ryan Gravolet
Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2019

Came to repair appliance when said they would and had it up and running in no time. Thank y’all

Stephen Vassallo
Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2019

Mario was great !!

Gordon Kolb Sr
Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2019

Arrived almost on time (15 minutes past the window). The technician was very helpful and fixed our issue quickly. Would use them again.

Tracey Dudenhefer
Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2019

The technician found what the problem was with our dryer and repaired it quickly.

Nicie
Rated 5 out of 5
December 26, 2019

Our tech, Roland, was thorough, prompt, and courteous. He had our dishwasher up and running within 30 minutes complete with tips on routine maintenance. Very highly recommended!

Sandy
Rated 5 out of 5
December 23, 2019

Chris was very knowledgeable and helpful. Truly appreciate the great service!

Lynn Stair
Rated 5 out of 5
December 20, 2019

George was our repair tech and he was awesome. Very informative to us and very knowledgeable about issues and solutions.

Mary
Rated 5 out of 5
December 20, 2019

My service technician was very friendly and explained my options to me. I opted to save the washer, but the washer had other ideas, and did not cooperate and was unfixable, but he did try. Solar has fixed a couple of appliances in my house and everyone is very helpful and polite.

Julie
Rated 5 out of 5
December 18, 2019

The Solar technician was polite, worked quickly and repaired my dryer the same day. I will call them again for any appliance repairs.

Monica McNeil